Sundays at 10:15am South corner of 96th Street & Central Park West

Second Presbyterian Church

Seeking a Better World Together

September 2018

Author gbakoulis, Written Sep 9, 2018

Welcome to September at Second Presbyterian Church. We continue to cherish times spent together in worship, fellowship, and reflection. We seek God and practice a welcoming faith in our community. We treasure our times together in God’s presence. Please join us as often as you can, and invite others to share in our fellowship.

Whether you are a longtime or new member, or you are considering making Second Presbyterian your spiritual home, we hope you will find ways to engage with us. Please call the church office at 212.749.1700 or speak to any church member if you have questions.

Worship 

We worship in the Sanctuary at 10:15 a.m. on Sundays. Please join us as often as you can, and invite others to share in our fellowship.

Sunday School will resume Sunday, September 30. The children leave following the Time with Young Disciples.

We enjoy a fellowship hour in the Carnegie Library following worship and invite all members and friends to join us.

All members of the congregation are encouraged to assist with worship as lector, beadle, or offering collector. Our September worship coordinator is Scott Amrhein; please contact Scott if you’d like to serve.

Rev. Lindsay Borden will preach and Eunjung Ahn, Minister of Music, will serve as organist during worship in September.

Sunday, September 9 we celebrate the Sacrament of Communion (intinction).

Sunday, September 16 we Shine a Light on Stewardship.

 

 

 

Sunday, September 23 is the annual Kirking of the Alexander Robertson School. Come and worship as we offer our prayers for God’s blessing upon the students, teachers, and staff of the Alexander Robertson School. There will be bagpipes!

Looking ahead, October 7 at 11:00 a.m. we celebrate World Communion Sunday with our partners in ministry the Chinese Community Church, and guest preacher, International Peacemaker the Rev. Alex Awad.

Second Tuesdays Prayer meeting: September 11, 11:00 a.m. in the sanctuary.

 

Holy Communion in 2018

Sunday, January 7 – Baptism of the Lord (intinction)

Sunday, February 4 – First Sunday of February (in the pews)

Wednesday, February 14 – Ash Wednesday (intinction)

Sunday, March 25 – Palm Sunday (in the pews)

Thursday, March 29 – Maundy Thursday (intinction)

Sunday, May 20 – Pentecost (in the pews)

Sunday, June 17 – Third Sunday of June (intinction)

Sunday, September 9 – First Sunday after Labor Day (intinction)

Sunday, October 7 – World Communion Sunday, with Chinese Community Church (in the pews)

Sunday, November 25 – Reign of Christ (intinction)

Sunday, December 9 – Second Sunday of Advent (in the pews)

Meetings

Session: Thursday, September 20, location and time TBA.

Trustees: TBD

Worship and music committee: Wednesday, September 12, 5:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary

Stewardship committee: Thursdays, September 6 and 13, 4:00 p.m. in the Sanctuary.

Choir rehearsal resumes Wednesday, September 12, 7:00 p.m. in the Carnegie Library.

Save the Date: The Kirking of the Alexander Robertson School will take place Sunday, September 23, during worship. Stay tuned for details!

 

Other

Primary Election: Thursday, September 13.

Presbytery of New York City Stated Meeting, Riverdale Presbyterian Church.

Mission Study Conversation: Sunday, October 21, following worship.